November 9, 2007

  • Anthropomorphic Pumpkins

    When I was two, my parents carved a pumpkin for Halloween, and I fell in love.  I named him “Punkie,” (very creative toddler, I was.)  Every day, Punkie and I would sit in the family room while I had my PBJ lunch with Casey.

    (“Casey Jones” was the star of the local live TV show, “Lunch with Casey.” Every day he would stop to have lunch with the kids.  He would ask, “Well how are you today? That’s good! All set for a good lunch.”  I considered Casey and his friend Roundhouse Rodney to be close personal friends.)

    Halloween came and went, and my mom broke the news that Punkie would soon have to go.  I was heartbroken.  She let me say goodbye, and then he had to go.  “No, Punkie, No!!!!” I screamed.

    This Halloween, I saw The Life and Death of a Pumpkin on YouTube.  I thought it was pretty funny, but in light of my beloved Punkie, also bittersweet. My 13 year old daughter watched it, and thought it was hilarious.  She had to show the video to her younger sisters and her friends. 

    Today, as I cracked some eggs into the frying pan, my youngest daughter came into the kitchen.  She bent down to the three uncarved Halloween pumpkins that are still sitting next to the refrigerator.  I heard her whisper, “at least you can be glad you’re not an egg!”

    Makes me feel a little bit better about not getting our pumpkins carved this year. 

Comments (5)

  • And I was just the 3 month old little sister that year :)   

    I just don’t remember Casey, but was on the Clancy and Willie Show as a 2nd grader!  You should scan a pic of yourself from that Halloween, sis.  Tres cute.

  • Made me laugh.  Hubby and I sneaked the punkies out of here a couple of nights ago.  So far, no one has noticed.  If they do, I think I’ll say they eloped.

  • That is so cute.  I can just picture you sitting next to Punkie eating your sandwich.

  • “no, Punkie, no!”  I find myself wanting to laugh and cry at the same time after that anecdote!  :)   Poor little girl!  And I feel oddly sad for Punkie!

    ryc, I think she just used a big piece of paper.  Butcher paper, maybe?  There was a display of dollar bill origami at the estaurant tonight that had her fascinated!  I need to get her a how-to book, I think.

    Funny about the lady chatting you up at the restaurant.  Did she just pull up a chair at some point?  I don’t get approached very often in restaurants, so I was taken aback by the Golden Corral woman!

  • “I heard her whisper, ‘at least you can be glad you’re not an egg!’”

    hahahahahaha

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *