November 10, 2007

  • Find out your crush – only $9.99 a month!!!

    This annoying popup caught my eye, and I noticed my
    13-year-old had looked at the site earlier. 

    I’m not sure how it got past my pop-up blocker.

     

    Apparently, this service will notify your cell phone
    weekly of any new crush activity.  That’s
    right, if you have a new admirer, Your Crush will let you know.   It
    asks your sex, sign, and cell phone number!  It will also give you a ring tone and flirting tips. 

     

    From their web site:

     

    Terms of Service – I would like to participate in the
    Your Crush SMS Service. This service is subject to the Your Crush Terms and
    Conditions and Privacy Policy, and requires a handset which supports SMS
    messages or download of ringtones and also has an active data service plan. The
    Your Crush Service is billed to your cellular bill at a rate of $9.99 per
    month. Users under 18 years of age are not allowed to participate. Promotion
    includes weekly text alerts and 1 bonus Ringtone each month. As part of this promotion
    for the Your Crush service you will receive a choice of text alert services
    plus one bonus Ringtone for each month. At this time Verizon and Alltel do not
    support ringtone offer but their customers may accept text alerts. Other
    charges may apply. To cancel your plan, send the text message “STOP”
    to 44577. Questions, please contact customer service at (800)-985-2448.

     

    Immediately, I asked my daughter if she had looked at the site, and she
    sheepishly said she had.  I asked if she
    had entered her cell phone number, and she indignantly replied,  “No, of course not.  I would never enter my cell phone number on a
    web site.” 

     

    Big sigh of relief, both at her answer, and that we aren’t
    paying $9.99 a month for this “service.”

Comments (8)

  • When I was her age finding out my crush was the cost of a ripped off corner of notebook paper.  Sheesh.  Thank goodness she knew enough to not sign up for such falderal.  Still, a free ringtone.  Hmm.

  • I’ve read the description 3 times, and still don’t understand what one receives with this service!

  • I tried to figure that out too.  At the top of the website (www.yourcrush.net) it reads: “Bonus Ringtone and flirting tips sent to your cell
    for only $9.99/month”

    Supposedly it tells you the name of the person who secretly has a crush on you.  Or maybe the person you didn’t know you had a crush on?  After you type in your name and your star sign, the prompt reads:

    Almost There!
    Enter your mobile # to see who your secret crush is.

    Creepy.

  • Sounds like a premium stalker incentive, doesn’t it?  Just pay us 9.99 a month and we’ll assign someone that you’ll need to get a restraining order against . . . Cheryl

  • I’m a little creeped out that my cell phone could be my matchmaker… secret crush, pish posh 

    Wait, that sounds like a really bad movie plot!  We might need to discuss this further on Thanksgiving.

  • I saw this ad recently too. How weird! Glad that your daughter knew to not leave her cell #. 

  • And BTW – I found the link from the “featured question” link, at the top with the other “ads by Google”.  The ad tempts “You have 2 secret crushes!   2 people want you! Find out who it is – Scary how accurate this is”.

    What a tempting tag line!  The page I stopped at (and I’m guessing so did niecelie #1) is:

    “Who has a crush on you?  Almost there!  Enter your mobile number to see who your secret crush is.”

  • I looked at that ad – that is seriously creepy stuff. 

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *