November 3, 2007

  • In search of a pumpkin


    Halloween Eve, and we had
    not gotten the traditional pumpkins.  I
    could have easily gotten some at the grocery store, but the girls and I decided
    to drive to Lendt’s Pumpkin farm.  We had
    been there several times before, and though it was getting late, I figured we
    would have enough time to look around a bit, haul the wagon out to the field,
    and pick our pumpkins before they closed. 
    It might even be kind of fun if it was getting dark.

    We got there, and of course, we
    didn’t see many pumpkins.  We wandered
    around the wooden Halloween cut-outs, and took pictures by the “How Tall Are
    You This Year” sign.  The kids had fun,
    but it made me a bit melancholy.  The big
    Charlie Brown now looked like Kilroy. 

    As we headed out to the field, the
    proprietor came up to us and asked, “Are you here for pumpkins?”  I replied, “Well, yeah…” 

     “We don’t have any more pumpkins
    left,” she said.  “The ones in the field
    are all rubbish.”  She told us that if we
    hurried, we had about 15 minutes to get to Pinehaven, a petting zoo/pumpkin/Christmas
    tree farm that featured haunted hayrides. 
    We got over there with 10 minutes to spare, picked out our pumpkins,
    paid our $20 and headed home.

    I'm usually pretty good at making special moments, but not always so good at remembering to be in them.

    "We can only be
    said to be alive in those moments when our hearts are conscious of our
    treasures."

    Thornton
    Wilder


Comments (4)

  • I wish I'd been with you.

  • It's tough to find a way out from behind the camera. Maybe the girls could take turns learning to use yours, so you could be in photos with each of them. My boys love it when they get a chance to do that ... and I get archival evidence that I existed :)

  • People love taking group photos (strangers that is - have never known anyone to walk away with a camera).  Glad your hardwork payed off with a pumpkin. 

  • what a lovely couple - would you consider adopting a considerably older child?

     

Comments are closed.

Post a Comment